#69 Mike’s & Liberty – Taranaki Pale Ale

Mike's & Liberty Taranaki Pale AleName: Taranaki Pale Ale
Brewery:  Mike’s & Liberty Brewing
Style: IPA
ABV: 7%
Source: Regional Wines (Wellington)

I first had the Taranaki Pale Ale at Galbraith’s a few weeks ago and loved it, but I was doing my post on another collaboration brew that day – Vasta’s Velvet – so didn’t get to write it up.

But now I can! Because I had a rigger sent up from Regional Wines (along with some other amazing beers which will be appearing here soon), which me and Finn took to the park today for a picnic.

Although it doesn’t look particuarly appealing in my slightly dirty plastic vessel, it pours a brilliant orangey-gold with the slightest bit of haze.

The smell is really fantastic – a luscious medley of ripe, tropical fruit and zesty citrus. On the palate there’s a punchy hop bitterness, softened with chewy toffee-like malt. It’s crisp, clean, and has a long dry finish that makes it a perfect summer quencher.

We drank it with my own creation – some prawn sammies with mayo, lettuce and coriander. They weren’t half bad either!

PS – Beer in the sun is one of life’s greatest gifts – but you should always remember to wear sunscreen. (Said she with the lobster face).

Published in: on October 17, 2011 at 10:08 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/10/17/69-mikes-liberty-taranaki-pale-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for the nice write up… I’m really glad you liked it.


Leave a comment