#365 Liberty – 365

Name: 365
Brewery: Liberty
Style: Imperial Red Ale
ABV: 8.5%
Source: Galbraith’s Alehouse

I’ll admit there have been times over the year when this project seemed insane. The days where I had “twenty-five posts to write” for example, or as I forced back beers while every cell in my body protested.

But every hangover, every dollar spent and every hour passed at my laptop seemed suddenly worth it last night.

Aside from a momentary panic that I could be “peaking” at 26, the end of blog party was probably one of the most enjoyable nights of my life. Thank you so much to everyone who came down to Galbraith’s to celebrate with me. It was so lovely to have all my family and friends – beery and otherwise – gathered together in my favourite pub.

And the beer. The beer! 

As Phil pointed out, it would have been p r e t t y awkward if I hadn’t liked my final beer, although with Liberty in charge there was never any real danger of that. Still, I’m happy to report that  – I’m going to annoy my parents one last time by swearing on the blog – it was fucking delicious.

To make “365” a hoppy Imperial Red Ale was a genius decision by Jo. Looking back over my year, the beers I first fell in love with were huge, highly-hopped IPAs, and then I steered away from them in favour of malt mosters. Eventually I decided I loved both, just so long as they were balanced.

I might be a total fluke, but “365” encompassed this journey perfectly. The fresh, fruity New Zealand hops were the perfect partner for the mouth-filling toffee malt, and it succeeded in being both rich and endlessly drinkable. It finished on a lip-smackingly crisp note – but without that lingering harshness that puts me off so many hoppy beers. Did I mention also that it was 8.5%? I’m pretty sure that made the party 85% more fun.

Plenty of clever sods have pointed out that this was a leap year, and so technically I should be doing 366 beers. Quite right, and that’s why Kate Jordan, Richard Jack and I brewed “Stickler”, a hoppy American Stout which we gave away at Galbraith’s last night. I saved a little to drink tonight, although I won’t be blogging about it because surely you’re sick of me by now.

I am actually going to write one last post in the next week or so, which will be a reflective, epilogue type thing. For now, I just want to say a ginormous, magnum-sized THANK YOU to everyone who has been with me on this journey. Your comments, tweets and even just page views were what motivated me to pick up the next bottle – so both the success of this blog and the possible failure of my liver are on you.

Oh God, I’m actually getting a little bit teary as I realise this is the end. My workmate is looking at me funny and I’m trying to pretend I’m just yawning. It’s OK – I have an emergency-sized can of DAB under my desk. I’m going to open that, and we’ll just say goodbye for now. I’ll see you next week at Beervana!

Published in: on August 8, 2012 at 12:41 pm  Comments (17)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/08/08/365-liberty-365/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank YOU! This has been quite an entertaining year. I’m trying to remember when I first started reading, but I think it was around 30 or so. This has definitely been my favourite blog of the last year and I really hope you continue to write about beer because you’ve got a refreshing voice.

    Anyway, sounds like a good shindig! I did my part: http://untappd.com/user/MattSearle/checkin/10988485 !!

  2. Yes, thank you! It’s been great reading, and got me motivated enough to get my blog going.

    What Beervana session/s you going to be at?

  3. “This is not the end. It is not even the beginning of the end. But it is, perhaps, the end of the beginning.”

    • God, I wish I’d thought to end with something that poignant.

  4. Wonderful stuff. Now I just have to go back and catch up on the whole bunch of posts I’ve failed to read. Excellent achievement, and I do hope you keep the beer-related writing going.

  5. Thanks Alice, it’s been absolutely brilliant reading through your year of beer. Great insight, great to see how much you’ve learnt along the way and written with great humour. Loved it!

  6. Congratulations! A great achievement. I was a bit late in joining you on your journey but have enjoyed your posts and learning more about all the wonderful beers out there. Cheers!

  7. I’ll add my thanks and congratulations to the mix. It’s been great.

    And I’ll be shocked (and not insignificantly disappointed) if we don’t see you writing here or somewhere else some time soon.

  8. Oh, Alice, I’m all teary too. It’s like the end of Harry Potter (kind of happy and kind of sad… except you didn’t kill anyone). Will your epilogue be called “19 Years Later…”?

  9. Hi Alice, I’ve been a passive reader and follower of this blog for the last year, but I thought you really deserve a warm congratulations from me. It’s been the first blog I’ve ever properly followed. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about the beer, but most of all I enjoyed your style of writing. It’s honest, raw and at times quite hilarious. So thank you for Beerforayear and I will keep my ear to the ground for your future projects. Cheers!

  10. Hey Alice, the blog has been wonderful and something you should be very proud of! If there’s ever a Season 2, I’ll certainly be subscribing. A +++ Would do business again 🙂

  11. Hi Alice
    Never got to meet you (yet) but like many others on here I got to know you a bit through your writing. I have loved your blog, looked at each new post immediately, some even in the middle of business meetings !

    You started off not knowing much about beer and have increased your and our knowledge through a memorable year. Thanks for that

    Dont you dare change a thing about your writing – it is fresh and fruity to start, brings joy in the middle and has a delightful lingering aftertaste.

    Cheers (raises his glass)

  12. Big congrats on behalf of thethirstyboys for such an amazing achievement….we have posted just over 20 blogs in one year and that was a mission. Your 365+ is inspirational…did you issue a press release?

    remember: quench that thirst but don’t lose it.
    cheers
    malice

  13. A Beer Hall Prayer

  14. Oh Heck!!! This one’s even better

  15. any Australian here? beer ads in australia are amazing, is the same with their taste?

  16. Great last post…sorry I missed the other 364. I think that your blog will be able to provide me plenty of ideas as I explore the Beers of Europe (as found in the Swedish state-run liquor stores that is). Thanks for taking on the endeavor.


Leave a Reply

