#349 Garage Project – Double Day of the Dead

I tried to put some Mexican stuff around the beer. I did a bad job.

Name: Double Day of the Dead
Brewery: Garage Project
Style: Dunkler Bock
ABV: 8%
Source: garage Project

My greatest regret from GABS – aside from drinking a large IIPA which tipped me promptly from about a 3 to a 7 on the drunkometer – was not blogging about the Double Day of the Dead.

Thankfully, a recent request for final beer suggestions prompted Phil Cook (who now works for GP) to send me a bottle, along with a super bad-ass matching t-shirt. Fittingly, it is the first promotional t-shirt I’ve received that I would actually be seen dead in. (On that note, any X-L men out there with a penchant for polo shirts, get in touch.)

I love the joyful morbidity of Day of the Dead stuff, and bought truckloads of it back from Mexico when I visited in summer. We had a Mexican party a couple of months go, and our lounge is still decorated with some of the paper flowers, flags – even a homemade piñata which swings precariously above our heads while we eat.

I’m also a bit of a chilli fiend (though not quite at the level of Liberty’s Jo Wood), and like any self-respecting human I love chocolate. Suffice to say, this beer is right up my alley.

If you’ve ever had that Lindt chilli chocolate before, you have a fair idea of what drinking this is like. When it first hits your tongue there’s no heat, just chocolate (like real freshly-grated chocolate), a little roasted coffee and I reckon a subtle flavour of chillies – the dried ones that have been sitting in my pantry for ages and turn to powder if I crush them. It feels smooth and velvety, sweet and gently bitter. And then it’s there – that prickly rising heat at the back of my throat when I swallow, lingering long after it’s gone and making the time between sips almost as enjoyable as the sips themselves.

On second thoughts, it really blows that Lindt chocolate out of the water.

Published in: on July 27, 2012 at 1:06 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/07/27/349-garage-project-double-day-of-the-dead/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for the review… I was wondering what that keg in the back of Pomeroy’s chiller tasted like?! Might have to wait until Halloween night to try… and sorry… not an XL! 🙂

  2. XL you say? Why, hello.


Leave a Reply

