#346 8 Wired – Batch 18

8 Wired Batch 18Name: Batch 18
Brewery: 8 Wired
Style: Barrel-Aged Imperial Stout
ABV: 12.5%
Source: Galbraith’s Alehouse

It’s hard to know where to begin when you’re describing a beer this delicious.

Perhaps with an apology, actually, because in the higgeldy-piggeldy mess that the blog became in about April (lots of posts building up and then months of “catching up” ) this beer somehow fell through the cracks. I went looking for my post on it yesterday to remind myself of what I had said – only to find that it wasn’t actually there.

And how the hell could I have forgotten to post about a beer that I had loved so much?

I drank it approximately two months ago with a new beer friend, Allegra, who I was meeting for the first time at Galbraith’s (where she now works). I was trying to impress her with our snazzy New Zealand beers, and buying a bottle of this was me “pulling out the big guns”.

Imagine biting into a cherry soaked in booze covered and in dark chocolate, and you have an idea of what a sip of Batch 18 is like. One layer of it at least – there were about a squillion different flavours lurking in the dark, syrupy depths –  including toasted woody, vanilla, coconut and roasty malt.

In the mouth, as you’d expect, it was full and oily, and slipped down my throat like warm milk. There was a hint of alcohol heat to remind me of the ABV, but still it was dangerously drinkable considering.

Allegra loved the Batch 18 as well, and our friendship was soon cemented with Twitter follows/Facebook adds and the rest of it. A beautiful story for a beautiful beer. 

Published in: on July 25, 2012 at 9:47 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/07/25/346-8-wired-batch-18/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

