#341 Emerson’s – Weissbier

Emerson's Weissbier Name: Weissbier 
Brewery: Emerson’s (Dunedin, NZ)
Style: Weissbier
ABV: 5%
Source: Ponsonby Liquor King

Yum. Yum. YUMThis stuff is delicious!

Not that I should be surprised – I’ve never had a bad drop from Emerson’s  – but you know it’s not like me to get crazy with my formatting  over a wheat beer. Usually I say something along the lines of: “It would probably be nice if it was summer and also you were dying of thirst in a dessert,” but not this time.

This didn’t taste like any old Weissbier to me – instead it was like a slice of still-warm banana cake, gone slightly crispy and toffeeish at the edges.

Kaaaarrrrrrrrggggggghhhhh….

On the nose I got gooey ripe banana (something that gives me the creeps in real life but here it worked), caramel, candied sugar and warm wintery spices. In the mouth it was sweet and spicy, with more banana, yeast, a hint of lemony tartness and a dry finish.

I’ve never thought of a wheat beer as being a good winter warmer before, but because of the spicyness, the dessert-like aromas and the relatively full body, that’s exactly what this was.

In other news, you might have noticed that I’m getting very very close to finishing this blog! While I still have a back-log of beers that I have drunk but not yet written about, I still have 16 more beers to find. If anyone has suggestions of beers that are brilliant, not yet blogged and available in Auckland, please help a blogger out and let me know. Thanks!

Published in: on July 23, 2012 at 11:01 am  Comments (5)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/07/23/341-emersons-weissbier/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m picturing you dying of thirst in a giant tiramisu.

    • Arrrrgh for shame. I’m actually going to take “I have a close eye for detail” off my CV right now.

      • But um also, best fucking way to go.

  2. Now, I keep recommending Duchesse de Bourgogne as a rich sour Belgian you’d likely love, but I don’t know if it can be had in Auckland.

    However, I was up your way last week, and in the Countdown in Lynfield I saw some bottles of Fuller’s 1845 – now that’s a nice rich English Strong Ale, and well worth you checking out.

  3. Croucher Patriot and Three Boys Oyster Stout from New World Vic Park – must be sampled. Maybe review each of the remaining C&B beers. A fond farewell.


Leave a Reply

