#334 Three Boys – Pils

Three Boys Pils Name: Pils
Brewery: Three Boys (Chch, NZ)
Style: Pilsner
ABV: 5.5%
Source: Elliot Stables

I had this Three Boys Pils at Elliot Stables recently, which is a posh European-style “foodcourt” in the CBD. I always freak out in foodcourts because I want to eat everything and then end up with something sub-par like sushi, but at this place it’s hard to go too wrong.

The other bonus of Elliot Stables is that, obviously, you can drink there. The bottle shop has a very small but interesting selection of beers (Pink Elephant’s Pink’s Peculiar was on the list for example), and if you’re stingy and have a bottle-opening iphone case like me, you can get around paying any corkage.

This is a pretty classic pils – simple, refreshing and gently hopped. I didn’t get anything on the nose other than malt and metal at first, but as it warmed up this bouquet (wanky word I know, sorry) of grassy, earthy and slightly spicy hops emerged. In the mouth there was a honey sweetness, and a lightly bitter dry finish.

My general verdict is “great, if you like that sort of thing”, but unfortunately I’m yet to become a great appreciator of pilsners. As always though, I’ll happily take one on a summer’s afternoon when I’m thirsty, etc etc…

Published in: on July 19, 2012 at 2:08 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/07/19/334-three-boys-pils/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

