#330 Pink Elephant – Mammothn

Pink Elephant MammothName: Mammoth
Brewery: Pink Elephant
Style: Strong Ale
ABV: 7%
Source: Vic Park NW

Ahh Pink Elephant, you crazy, lovable, mysterious beast.

As I was saying the other day: this brewery is something that I know nothing about yet find myself oddly drawn to – like the country Finland or the word ‘discombobulate’.

And it doesn’t matter that I don’t know anything about them, because after drinking this Mammoth I’ve decided I definitely like the beer.

The Mammoth  had aromas of toffee, ripe stonefruit and warm spices. In the mouth it was hoppier than I was expecting, with lots of fruit coming through as well as sweet raisins and toffee in the malt. The finish was crisp and bitter, gently encouraging the next sip. I can’t currently recall all the New Zealand strong ales I’ve tried – but I’d say this has a good shot at being the best.

As a side note, I see the commercial description of this beer reads “acclaimed by Michael Jackson” and it does not say in brackets “the beer guy, not the pop sensation”. Now to beer nerds the distinction may be ob-vi-ous, but regular punters (i.e me this time last year) must think it’s the latter. I wonder if that would be a selling point or a turn-off?

Published in: on July 17, 2012 at 10:45 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/07/17/330-pink-elephant-mammoth/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

