#320 Harrington’s – Hop Tremor

Harrington's Hop Tremor Name: Brewer’s Selection Hop Tremor
Brewery: Harrington’s (Chch, NZ)
Style: IPA
ABV: 7.4%
Source:  Vic Park NW

Do not adjust your screens. That is a room draped in metres and metres of gold sequined fabric you see, and that pair of turntables to the left is just about to start spinning some sweet 90s jams.  Welcome to an average Tuesday morning in the life of Beer for a Year.*

Awkwardly empty disco-themed office party backdrop aside,  this beer probably fell into the “nice enough but nothing to write home about” category. It could have been that the sequins and TLC were overwhelming my senses, but I didn’t get the heavy-handed dose of hop aroma that I was expecting. All the right elements were there (grapefruit and pine resin and caramel), but they didn’t leap out of the glass and say “HEY, LET’S DANCE!”

In the mouth there was a big hit of juicy malt, and then a really lengthy and resinous bitter finish. That’s all well and good and probably what they were aiming for, but I’m a little funny with aftertastes. I don’t like bitterness to hang around to long, because it feels like I’ve swallowed a panadol too slowly. I get this feeling all the time with IPAs and I guess I pick on some beers more than others for it, but I think I’m more forgiving if there is heaps of fruit flavours upfront to balance it out. In this case there wasn’t.

Still, not a bad drop and probably well-liked by hop-heads. I might give it another shot one day when I’m not surrounded by distracting shiny stuff.

*I wish this was my Tuesday morning, in actual fact it was Saturday night two weeks ago. And in case you’re wondering what happened to the gold fabric – don’t worry. It has since been turned into a Turkish tent  in my friends’ lounge.

Published in: on July 10, 2012 at 1:28 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/07/10/319-harringtons-hop-tremor/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

