#318 Paulaner – Hefe-Weissbier

Palaner Hefe-WeissbierName: Hefe-Weissbier
Brewery: Paulaner (Munich, Germany)
Style: German Hefeweizen
ABV:  5.6%
Source: Ella (Akl)

Maybe it was the mood lighting, the soft music or the truffle oil in my dinner, but something had me feeling extra friendly towards this wheat beer.

I had it a couple of weeks ago at Ella – a cosy little European restaurant on Ponsonby Rd – because it was the only beer on the menu I hadn’t blogged. I wasn’t expecting to like it, I said I’d just have a few sips and give it to Finn, but in the end I hogged the whole thing.

The aroma was good – bold zesty notes of lemon and banana, spices and bready yeast, and in the mouth it was moderately sweet with a really lovely mouthfeel. Creamier and smoother than most wheat beers I’ve tried, with low carbonation and slightly tart dry finish.

What did you do Paulaner? Slip me an upper? I’m supposed to rag on wheat beers yet I can’t think of a bad word to say.

Well played, Paul. Well played.

Published in: on July 9, 2012 at 8:14 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/07/09/318-paulaner-hefe-weissbier/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I love that beer. I drank way too much of it when I was in Germany. At $2-3/L it’s really hard not to.


Leave a Reply

