#310 Epic – Lager

Epic Lager Name: Lager
Brewery: Epic
Style: Lager
ABV: 5%
Source: Vic Park NW

Apologies for the four-day posting hiatus –  but I promise I’ve been busy doing lots of important things and definitely didn’t spend the majority of the weekend in bed hungover watching 50 million episodes of Downton Abbey and eating chips. Definetely not.

OK so I did exactly that and I feel suitably ashamed. But Finn has gone away for his usual 5 week winter tour, and while I’m sure that will lead to amazing blog productivity soon, he doesn’t like Ready Salted or period dramas so I had to take advantage.

So, the Epic Lager is a pretty mainstream craft beer, and you might wonder why I haven’t blogged about it or even tried it before now. There is no reason really, other than that the ‘L’ word might have put me off a little. Why get the Lager when I could get a Pale Ale instead?

But surprise surprise, this was much hoppier than any lager I’ve had before. It’s probably hoppier than any lager ought to be, but really who cares? It was all the more enjoyable for it.

I got lots of citrus and grassy hops on the nose as well as a little lychee (though I did wonder if this was the gewurtz I’d been drinking earlier). In the mouth it was fruity and a little sweet, with a clean and lightly bitter finish. The flavours were similar to the Pale Ale, but it was less hoppy and a little crisper. I really liked it actually. I may order this over the Pale Ale in future.

Righty-ho, I have a date with the Earl of Grantham and a cup of tea. More beer/less excuses tomorrow!

Published in: on July 2, 2012 at 10:41 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/07/02/311-epic-lager/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

