#302 Westcoast Brewing – Belgian Stout

Name: Belgian Stout
Brewery: West Coast
Style: Belgian Stout
ABV: 5.4%
Source: Dave Kurth

It took several attempts by everyone in my flat to get the lid off this beer (we are a fairly wussy bunch, to be fair), but I’m pretty sure the extra effort added to my overall enjoyment of it – for the same reasons I like restaurants where I have to cook the food myself.

A bit like the last beer I blogged, this beer wowed me with it’s totally unique aroma. I was expecting coffee and dark chocolate, but instead I got strawberries, white chocolate and toasted wood. That’s what I thought anyway. I gave some to Finn who said “It smells like a swamp – a nice one, and licorice.” So uhhh… who knows.

In the mouth it wasn’t nearly as sweet as I was expecting – it was actually a little bit tart, and with more traditional stout flavours (roasty malt, bitter chocolate) than the aroma had suggested. The finish was lightly bitter and dry, and the mouthfeel was smooth and medium-bodied.

At the risk of sounding cheesy, I really enjoyed the journey that this beer took me on. From the initial challenge to open it, through to the strawberry fields and “nice swamps”, the tart notes and bitter finish – M. Night Shyamalan could not have brewed a beer with more twists. Great job!

Published in: on June 19, 2012 at 4:30 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/06/19/303-dave-kurth-belgian-stout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Agreed. I didn’t much like this beer when I had it on tap at Galbraiths recently. There just seemed to be a big hole in the middle where flavour should live. I was wary when it was on at House on Hood, but it turned out to be delicious. I may have accounted for a reasonable percentage of the keg in fact. I wonder if I changed, the beer did, or fresh was not best? 🙂


Leave a Reply

