#301 Garage Project – Oldham’s Farm

Name: Oldham’s Farm
Brewery: Garage Project
Style: Traditional Ale
Source: Galbraith’s Alehouse
ABV: 6.8%

I think I was already mildly drunk when I wrote my notes on this beer on my phone, because they consist almost entirely of heart emojis* and this little OMG face that looks like Edvard Munch’s “The Scream”.

Oh-em-gee indeed, this beer was freaking delicious. So delicious that I had two pints during the rugby (it was on at Galbraith’s) and was too busy obsessing over it to notice all the cheering and table thumping going on around me. “Are you serious?” my sister replied when I asked who’d won the rugby. “Where have you been?”

I’d been in the land of deliciousness, that’s where. Oldham’s Farm is, according to this blog by the brewer, a wet-hopped beer. I’ve just now learned what that means, and it’s that the hops are picked and used at the peak of their freshness, rather than dried first. I don’t think I’d ever had a wet-hopped beer before, and I didn’t know this was one at the time, but something made this beer extra special.

The aroma was different to any other beer I’d smelled before. I imagine others would interpret it differently, but to me it smelled like fejoas and Fruit for Yonks. Remember Fruit for Yonks? They were those sticky strips of dried fruit that were about a metre long and always ended up in my hair. Then in the mouth there was this awesome malt that tasted just like an ANZAC biscuit – toasty, chewy, full of golden syrup. It was SO GOOD!

It wasn’t as insane as I’m making it sound either. It was well-balanced, a little bitter, and totally quaffable for a 6.8 percenter. I want more. I want it all. I want it now!

*Hi Grandparents! Emojis are little pictures that I can make on my iPhone – that black thing I’m always ‘playing’ on. Will call you from it soon. Love you!

Published in: on June 18, 2012 at 4:22 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/06/18/302-garage-project-oldhams-farm/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am totally and completely in love with fresh hop beers. I’m super paranoid that I’m not going to be able to get my share of the Northern Hemisphere ones because of travel plans around the time of their release.

    All things going to plan though, I should be able to bring a couple back to NZ with me!

  2. Alice – another great post but how many pints did you have before you wrote it? The Scream is by Edvard Munch and you’ve had a wet-hopped beer before – #34 Grand Ridge Whoa! from Oz 🙂

    • I am actually doing the *Edvard Munch *face right now but this time in humiliation. I’ve sneakily changed it, now I’ve just gotta hope no one reads the comments!

      Great memory with the Grand Ridge beer. I’d totally forgotten about that!

      • No worries on The Scream, I only remember it was by Munch because of Law & Order SVU. And you probably didn’t remember the Grand Ridge Whoa! because it really wasn’t that memorable..

  3. After 300+ beers, it’s understandable some might slip into the ether!

    Glad you enjoyed it Alice – if you haven’t seen it, we made a video on the making of Oldhams which might help explain what was going on in the beer.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=svFeYU0CtbE&feature=plcp


Leave a Reply

