#299 The Kernel – Imperial Brown Stout

The Kernel Imperial Brown StoutName: Imperial Brown Stout London 1856
Brewery: The Kernel (London, 1856)
Style: Imperial Brown Stout
ABV: 9.8%
Source: Georgia Bollinger

I’d like to say I intentionally drank this fabulous beer to mark my 300th, but in actual fact I only realised this was número trescientos (yes, saying things in italicized Spanish is a thing I do now) after I’d poured it. Still, what a cracking  way to celebrate!

My friend Georgia who lives in London sent this and another Kernel beer back to NZ with her mum for me. It was such a nice surprise – I didn’t even know she read the blog and I still don’t know how she knew to get me Kernel beers. That brewery is right at the very top of my UK Most Wanted list.

The Imperial Brown Stout was black and opaque, and it glugged thickly into my glass to create the tiniest tan head. The aroma was deep and rich, with notes of roasted coffee, vanilla, and milk chocolate. In the mouth it tasted of roasty malts – more coffee and chocolate, with savory licorice and spice at its edges.  It didn’t bombard me with a million different flavors like some imperial stouts do – and I think that worked in its favor. What really threw this out of the ballpark though, was the mouthfeel. It was thick and smoother than Barry White, like chocolate milk but with a pleasing alcohol heat. I would almost go as far as to call this (dare I say it?) a perfect stout. 

Thanks so much to the lovely Georgia Bollinger for sending me this. A friend in need is a friend indeed – but a friend who sends you kick-ass beers from the other side of the world is better.

Published in: on June 18, 2012 at 2:28 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/06/18/300-the-kernel-imperial-brown-stout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I wonder if the date 1856 suggests this is based on an old recipe from the 19th century.

    Likewise, a friend bought back a bottle of the Kernel Saison last year – it was lovely. Rather annoyed that these guys started after I left London.

    • This beer sounds truly awesome, btw.

  2. It’s a stellar beer that one, one of the best “recreations” they’ve done. Evin and his team are phenomenal…


Leave a Reply

