#296 Three Boys – Cervesa Mas Fina

Name: Tres Amigos Cervesa
Brewery: Three Boys (Chch, NZ)
Style: Lager
ABV: 5%
Source: Glengarry’s

Ohhh snap, here I am back at Spicy Joint just three days after my last visit. There’s just something about deep-fried meat of questionable origin floating in bowls of dried chilli that I can not resist.

I really don’t know what’s going on with this latest offering from three boys, but I like it. I mean, you can tell from the fact it’s in a clear bottle that it’s not going to be a flavour sensation… But it’s all in Spanish! And the logo of the three little Mexican stickmen… So cuuuuute!

I can’t find anything on the internet about this beer, or what possessed three boys to have a punt at a Mexican lager (which isn’t exactly the most highly regarded beer in the world), so I put the Spanish blurb on the lable into Google Translate hoping to get some answers. It said:

The three friends is the flavor of Mexico to the brewery three boys. Enjoy it cold and straight from the bottle with a slice of lemon! Have it after mowing the lawn, next to the grill or on the beach. Hencha with the traditional Mexican method [??] to the height of a kiwi summer. Health!

You know how I feel about pale lagers and you know I did not love this beer, but it did bring back memories of Mexico for me. I even thought I sensed the faint taste of Jalepenos – but again I was tripping on chillies and and pig’s trotters so it’s hard to say.

One thing I can be sure of is that this would make for an excellent Michelada base, so if I have this again (and I might just for the cute stickemen), instead of lemon I’ll be adding Tobasco sauce, Worcester sauce, lime juice, Maggi seasoning sauce (secret ingredient), and salt. Health!

Published in: on June 14, 2012 at 1:05 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/06/14/297-three-boys-cervesa-mas-fina/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

