#293 Estrella Damm – Inedit

Estrella Dramm Inedit Name: Inedit
Brewery: Estrella Damm (Barcelona, Spain)
Style: Witbier
ABV: 4.8%
Source: Dad

I had this bottle of Estrella Dramm last week at one of my favourite restaurants in Auckland – Spicy Joint on Dominion Rd. Dad actually bought this along with a whole bunch of beers I’d never had before, but this was the only one that I drank while not in a state of chilli-induced hallucination.

You know what? I liked it. I actually did. I probably wouldn’t have given a Spanish wheat beer so much as a second glance on the shelf if I’d picked the beers myself, nor would I have thought cold pig’s ears could be a taste sensation – but I was proved wrong that night on both counts.

I  enjoyed it because it had the bits I like in a witbier – aromas of bread, orange and coriander as well as a delicate floral perfume – without that wet paper taste I seem to find in most wheat beers. In the mouth it was dry with fine bubbles, a bit like champagne, a little bitter and a little sweet.

Don’t worry guys, I am not going to use that “pretty fly for a wheat guy” again (although I sorta did by bringing it up), because I’ve realized that I can’t really claim that I don’t like wheat beer anymore. Ever since that amazing watermelon wheat, I don’t know where I stand on the issue. Dude , I don’t even know who I am anymore. Which leads me perfectly to the next beer…

Published in: on June 12, 2012 at 8:13 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/06/12/294-estrella-damm-inedit/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I drank ridiculous amounts of Estrella when I was in Barcelona. Their “flagship” beer is a thin, watery lager. I’m kinda disappointed I didn’t manage to find any of this to save me from the fizzy yellow stuff.


Leave a Reply

