#287 Richard Jack – Figaro

Name: Figaro
Brewery: Richard Jack (homebrew)
Style: Stout
ABV: 7%
Source: Richard Jack

This last week has been awash with homebrew (well, I had three bottles) and I still can’t get over how good it all is. I mean obviously people aren’t sending me bottles of their diacetyl-ridden kit brew to write nasty things about, but honestly, it’s a shame it’s so tough to make a proper living out of brewing because it seems there is some serious talent out there.

(Then again – I still don’t actually know how to pick diacetyl so perhaps I’m the wrong person to judge.)

This bottle of fig, coffee and oatmeal Stout came from Richard Jack, an Auckland beer geek who I met at Galbraith’s a few weeks ago.  He’s originally a spirits guy, but more recently turned his hand to beer and has a really fancy homebrew setup in his garage. He also built his own cider press, so I guess you could call him a Jack of all alcohol. Pun intended!

The beer was so so good – and I don’t use the double ‘so’ lightly. Flavour-wise it had the usual coffee stout stuff going on – bitter coffee beans (derr), a hint of chocolate, raisins, roasty malt, dark fruit (figs?) – it was the mouthfeel that really did it for me though. It was so full and velvety smooth, like it actually could cure tonsillitis or at least a sore throat. At 7% it would probably make you feel happier, at least.

I’m trying to limit the number of homebrews I post as I get down to the final 50 (there are just too many commercial brews I want to get through yet), but I am going to have to write about another of Richard’s – a sour cherry stout. Doesn’t that just sound like the best beer ever?  I think so!

Published in: on June 5, 2012 at 8:04 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/06/05/287-richard-jack-fig-oatmeal-stout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My 6 year old son uses the double so every time he tells anyone he loves them. It’s cute.

    I’m not surprised this beer was good. Something about Richard strikes me as a “I’m going to do this proper”.

  2. Thanks for the kind words! There is a writeup of that brew day here: http://medicinalpurposes.wordpress.com/2012/04/15/partigyle-brew-day-photos-imperial-fig-stout-export-stout/

    I love that beer. I’m already getting crippling “keg anxiety”, the fear of it running out without my noticing. The name was “Figaro” by the way 🙂

    • Shite, it was too, and I completely neglected to mention that it was brewed with coffee! Shame on me. Ammended now.

  3. […] think Richard  – who you may remember from such Beer For a Year posts as #287 – Figaro –  named it as such because it’s a Raspberry Wheat brewed in the American Style with […]


Leave a Reply

