#286 Sierra Nevada – Big Foot

Name: Big Foot
Brewery: Sierra Nevada (Chico, CA, USA)
Style: Barley Wine
ABV: 9.6%
Source: Galbraith’s Ales

Question: What do you get when you mix forgetfulness and impatience?
Answer: Frozen beer.

Yes, it’s often the case that  two of my less-than-desirable qualities  team up to produce beer popsicles, impatience putting the beer in the freezer in the first place, forgetfulness ensuring it turns solid.

Usually when this happens I just declare it a loss, throw the beer out and put something else in the freezer (this time setting an alarm on my phone), but with this one I had two reasons not to do that. For one, it wasn’t frozen solid – It was at that slushy stage where you can actually pour it – and two, it was a motherflippin’ Sierra Nevada Barley Wine!

By the time I drank the beer it had melted, but it was still really cold – about the temperature that most bars serve their lager. Now, usually I like my beer at a toasty 10 degrees so that I can actually taste it – but I gotta say, there was something really nice about having this big sweet beer so chilled. I wouldn’t usually describe a Barley Wine as refreshing, but boy, was I refreshed!

Also, this is probably a great beer at every temperature. It had masses of classic Sierra Nevada hop aromas – bitter grapefruit pith and pine, as well as something a little sweet and juicy. In the mouth it was thick, chewy (and of course, slightly icy) with lots of toffee caramel malt cushioning the hops and booze.

On a side note, why are there not more alcoholic popsicles in my life? These all look delicious, and an I’m sure an iced Barley Wine would fit right in…

Published in: on June 1, 2012 at 5:11 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/06/01/256-sierra-nevada-big-foot/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Alice
    Have a hunt on the app store for iChill my beer
    Little timer to help

    Cheers
    About time I sent you another beer.
    Hamilton brewers association have another home brew comp at the house on hood bar in the tron, 10 June. See you there???

  2. Yo alice, seen that you order from beerstore try the lugintas sumpin sumpin ipa? its the pick of the ipas I ordered last time, cheers.

  3. For other ideas with ice blocks…
    http://thetoastieproject.wordpress.com/2012/03/18/fruju/

  4. If you like boozy ice blocks, next time you are passing through Hamilton you should stop at Nitro. They do frozen cocktails, where they basically make your cocktail of choice, and top it up with liquid nitrogen.
    Makes for some pretty good “grown up” Sorbet


Leave a Reply

