#282 Green Fern – Organic Lager

Green Fern Organic LagerName: Organic Lager
Brewery: Green Fern (West Coast Breweries)
Style: Lager
ABV: 5%
Source: Dave Kurth

I’m trying to like lagers. I really am, but even when I drink fancy hand-crafted organic ones I’m always left wondering: “what’s the point?”

From the Steinlager pure-esque packaging I would assume that this beer is market at people who enjoy, well, Steinlager pure, but might like the idea of having an organic beer every now and then when they’re detoxing.

In actuality this doesn’t taste like Steinlager pure – it has a much bigger malt presence and a fuller mouthfeel. That to me is what sets it apart from mainstream commercial lagers, and not a lot else. It has similar light grassy hop notes, cereal flavours and a really light bitter kick at the end.

As far as lagers go it doesn’t seem to be too bad. I would rather drink this than Steinlager Pure, but even with this I’d have to be thirsty.

I’m almost 3/4 of the way to the end of the year, and I still have as much enthusiasm for lager as I do for wet bread. Time to cut my losses and give up on it?

Published in: on May 27, 2012 at 6:21 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/05/27/282-green-fern-organic-lager/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. does that attitude hold for all lager? or are we just talking International Golden Lager / NZ Lager / Helles ish ones?

    • Not all lager styles – I really like rauchbier for example – but in my experience so far, anything that’s described on the bottle as simply a lager hasn’t really done it for me. I’m not really crazy about pilsners either, with a few definite exceptions (Emerson’s being one).

  2. I really don’t have time for lagers either! Just finished a pint of Kasmir Pilsner (the one with Chilli). So far away from lager!

  3. Have you tried the Epic lager?

  4. Oh and today ….. http://www.stuff.co.nz/business/money/7009473/West-Coast-Brewery-to-be-liquidated

    The West Coast Brewery, run by Good Bastards founder Paddy Sweeney, is to be liquidated owing about $334,000 to the Inland Revenue Department and trade creditors.

    They’re on twitter and I believe trying to get this resolved and carry on.


Leave a Reply

