#280 Belhaven – Scottish Stout

Belhaven StoutName: Scottish Stout
Brewery: Belhaven ( Dunbar, Scotland)
Style: Stout
ABV: 7%
Source: Waiheke Wines

Before I get on to talking about this beer, I just want to take a self-indulgent moment to say I can’t believe there are only 85 beers left until this thing is over! (And actually more like 80 because I’m still a bit behind on posts).

I know that sounds like heaps (what kind of a person utters the words “only 85 beers” anyway?) but it’s actually only 11 and a bit weeks – which incidentally is just one week longer than Kim Kardashian’s marriage lasted.*

But it’s still really too soon to be thinking about the end (except for choosing a final beer), so I won’t launch into any reflective ramblings just yet. I just wanted to let you know that it’s coming, and if there are any beers that you think must be included in the final 80, please do feel free to suggest them.

Anyway, this stout! It was bloody delicious and it went exceptionally well with Mum’s slow-cooked beef stew.

It poured really dark brown and retained a thin but creamy tan head. It smelled of lightly toasted wood, brown sugar and chocolate, then the mouth it was sweet and milk-chocolatey before the hops kicked in for a dry and slightly bitter finish. It had a smooth mouthfeel with very little carbonation, and was still light enough to be refreshing. I loved it! I really did.

And speaking of stout, did you know Mariah Carey was once criticized for drinking Guinness while breastfeeding?**

*I thought my blog might see a last-minute surge in popularity if I started to include more pop trivia.
** See above .

Published in: on May 22, 2012 at 9:33 pm  Comments (15)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/05/22/280-belhaven-scottish-stout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think I might make a strong beer called The Theory of Relativity*

    * Aged for slightly longer than Kim Kardashian’s marriage lasted.

    #freshisnotbest

  2. Your blog will receive a surge in popularity because of the Power Of Footnotes.

  3. Can we start singing the Final Countdown yet?

    • I’m sure Neil would approve of that…

  4. After reading this, I feel like brewing a beer called 365 with the vague hope that it would weasel it’s way into being your 365th beer.

    • I reckon that’s a really, really good idea….

      • Would it be a session beer or out with a bang beer? Also, what’s the end date Alice? Please tell me it’s a Friday or Saturday.

      • Well, I started on August 8th so I think it should be August 8th again (366 days because of stupid leap year?) which is a Wednesday. I really should have thought about that when I started the blog!

      • Looking at the “Categories” on the right… it would appear that IPA is your tipple of choice. Reading the blog would have lead me to think otherwise. Name your poison… I’ll make whatever you want.

        P.S. I think technically Tuesday would be the last beer day: as you moniker states “365 beers in 365 days”.

      • Or I could just suprise you…

      • I’ve been trying to think of a style that encompasses everything I’ve learned so far… And I’m coming up blank. Surprise me!

      • What if i named a beer “Alice”?

      • In the tradition of Yeastie Boys’ beers would it need to be a song title? ‘Who the fuck is Alice?’ or ‘Alice’s Restaurant’?

  5. I’m impressed that I’ve drunk one or two of the beers you have, and you’re about as technical with the taste sensation as I can manage. Cheers!

  6. I would seriously suggest Mike’s Whiskey Porter as a must try beer, thought at approaching $30 not a cheap tipple. Maybe a sign of support for your great blog might be to send you one? (It would be much better than my homebrew – still a learner in that regard).


Leave a Reply

