#273 Dupont – Biere de Miel

Name: Biere de Miel
Brewery: Brasserie Dupont  (Tourpes-Leuze, Belgium)
Style: Saison
ABV: 8%
Source:

Last Tuesday night (yes, I’ve stuffed up the order slightly because I had this before Raffe’s Saison), I went to the Belgian Beer Cafe.

This is how the ordering process went:

Me: I’ll have the Dupont Biere de Miel please.
Waiter: Sure, I’ll be right back with that.

Waiter returns 10 minutes later with a Saison Dupont .

Me: I’m really sorry, but that’s not what I ordered.

Waiter lingers with the beer waiting for me to take it anyway, eventually lets out an exasperated sigh and disappears with it. He returns five minutes later empty-handed. 

Waiter: I’m sorry, we don’t have any Biere de Miel. Can I get you something else instead?
Me: Damn. OK, Lindeman’s Apple please.

Waiter disappears, and returns five minutes later empty-handed. 

Waiter: I’m really sorry, but we don’t have any Lindeman’s Apple. I did find the Biere de Miel while I was looking though, would you like that instead?
Me: Yes! Thank you!
Waiter: Are you ready to order food now too?
Me: I was ready last Christmas. Can I have the metre-long sausage please?
Waiter: I’m terribly sorry, but we’re all out of that. Can I get you something else instead?
Me: Are you sure? Are you sure you won’t find some if you go back and look for something else?
(defeated) No, no, I jest. I’ll have the mussels.

Now, I’m not usually one to complain about bad restaurant service (having delivered my fair share of it myself) but I feel like this happens at the BBC nearly every time I go. And this time I’ve had it – I’m not going back! (At least not until my birthday when I’m eligible for a free meal.)

Oh and I nearly forgot – the Biere de Miel was amazing. It smelled like a field of fresh honeysuckle, candyfloss and musty yeast. In the mouth it was  dry and slightly sour at the finish, but with a nice balance of sweetness. The mouthfeel was lovely – light but not at all watery, and quite spritzy.

It was so delicious that I nearly forgave the BBC all it’s faults, and didn’t bother to complain when I paid. But then as I left I saw at the front of the fridge, prominently displayed, stacks of the Lindeman’s Apple. And I couldn’t help but wonder: was that waiter just fucking with me all along?

Published in: on May 18, 2012 at 10:41 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/05/18/273-dupont-biere-de-miel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m constantly astounded by how crap service can be at The Ponsonby

  2. Ditto the one in Mt. Eden. The BBC in CBD didn’t seem to bad the one night I stopped in there. My local just had a keg of this beer in and I always try anything from Dupont since they seem to know what they’re doing. Fantastic fruit and honey aromas – quite different from their other saisons.


Leave a Reply

