#272 Stone & Wood – Pacific Ale

Name: Pacific Ale Stone & Wood Pacific Ale
Brewery: Stone and Wood (Byron Bay, Australia)
Style: APA
ABV: 4.4%
Source: Some bottle shop on Brunswick St

As I may have mentioned five or six times, I’ve been away in Melbourne over the weekend attending the Great Australasian Beer Spectacular. If you didn’t go and are the jealous type, I suggest you don’t check the blog over the next few days so that you can avoid commentary on the 50 or so beers I sampled. (No, really I did.)

But first, I just need to rewind to Friday night and quickly tell you about this Stone & Wood beer. And listen up, because I think you actually can buy this in NZ (relevance! Hoorah!).

I thought it smelled of sweet juicy fruits – tangerine, pinnapple and mango – as well as a little saison-like yeast. In the mouth it was really crisp, light and dry, faintly sour and moderately bitter at the finish.

On one of Melbourne’s sweltering forty-something degree summer days, I don’t think you could do much better than a cold glass of Pacific Ale.  As it happened I drank it on one of Melbourne’s freezing eight-degree nights, and I abandoned it halfway through for a glass of red wine. (And before you go calling me a traiter just remember that I tried 50 beers over the next few days. 50!)

PS – I saw the Stone & Wood brewer at a Q & A session at GABS. I thought he was the brewer from the Mussel Inn so I went “Wooooo! Yeah!” (on account of him being a Kiwi) when they introduced him, which was embarrassing. Anyway, he had some good things to day despite not being from the same country as me.

Published in: on May 17, 2012 at 5:13 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/272-stone-wood-pacific-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. It’s not really an APA. Its more one of those confusing wheat beers like 8 Wired Haywired. A cross between a golden ale and an American wheat.


Leave a Reply

