#262 21st Amendment – Back in Black

Name: Back in Black
Brewery: 21st Amendment (contracted to Cold Spring Brewery, San Fran)
Style: Black IPA
ABV: 6.8%
Source: Matthew Searle (Canada)

As with the last post, I am still rushing to get to a beer launch (Galbraith’s feat. Jo Wood – Yakima Monster!) so will not afford this post my usual ramblings and segues…

This is another of the beer’s sent to me by Matthew Searle in Canada. It’s a hoppy IPA in a can – ’nuff said.

Except unfortunately not ’nuff said, because what kind of beer blogger would I be if I left it there? I’d be a beer tweeter instead, which while still very admirable is not quite as- SEGUING ALICE, SEGUING.

Ths is the best black IPA I’ve had since the Yeastie Boys’. I’m tempted to say I like it more than theirs because it’s in a can, but I’m probably going to run into Yeastie Sam if I ever make it to this bloody launch so I won’t.

It really was delicious. It smelled of roasty dark malt and coffee, but with American Pale Ale hop notes of grapefruit and pine resin. In the mouth it was sweet and slightly chocolaty at first, before a dry bitterness took over for the finish. The body was creamy, and the balance of bitter and sweet was beautiful.

OK, so I didn’t actually like it quite as much as PKB (I think the PKB body is fatter, which I like), but the can bought the BIB damn close. Now off, off I go before I think of anything else to say!

Published in: on May 7, 2012 at 6:13 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/05/07/262-21st-amendment-back-in-black/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’d love to taste the whole range of 21st Amendment beers but unfortunately haven’t had the chance to try any. They have well designed labels which were drawn by Joe Wilson. I wrote a little about them here http://wp.me/s26E8T-25 and you can see a few of the others in the range.

  2. I feel inclined to jump in here, as I literally used to live a half block from the 21st Amendment brewery in SF (and now probably live a half block from you – at least relatively)… The whole Cold Spring thing is new – a way to distribute from the east coast – although I heard that’s where all the cans are being done.

    That said, you can have all of their hoppy goodness on Second St. SF, right off the tap.

  3. Always wanted to do cans… maybe one day. And then we can be on top again.

  4. God damn I like this beer. Going to have to make a trip to the states to get some now!

  5. congrats on avoiding acdc puns.

    • Congrats on doing your homework before we meet up tonight. You’re going to beat Georgie in the BFAY quiz…


Leave a Reply

