#258 St Bernadus – Abt 12

Name: Abt 12
Brewery: St Bernadus (Watou, Belhium)
Style: Quadrupel
ABV: 10.5%
Source: The Beer Store

I’m almost too scared to write this post, given that it’s likely to mortally offend at least one person and confirm to everyone else that I don’t know sod all about beer.

The Abt 12 was kindly sent to me by Daniel at The Beer Store, who describes this on the site as “an almost perfect quad, quite possibly my favorite.”

I see that it scores impeccably on Ratebeer too, with an overall score of 100 and 99 for style.

Well call me a philistine, but I just don’t get it.

It’s possible that I don’t really like quads – I never order them so I haven’t had enough to tell, but I found this too sweet and the alcohol burn too rough and raw.

The aroma was quite nice – very malty, with notes of raisins, dark fruits and yeast – but it wasn’t really that strong. In the mouth it was sweet and earthy, but instead of the syrupy smoothness I wanted it seemed harsh and alcoholic.

Given that my experience seems to be so at odds with everyone else’s, I’d say there are three quite likely things that could have happened:

1) It hasn’t travelled well, and has lost some of the flavour over time
2) I am a wimp and don’t like quads much
3) I just don’t know what I’m talking about

If I haven’t mortally offended Daniel or anyone else yet, wait until you hear this: after I had drunk half of it and decided it wasn’t worth the hangover, I proceeded to dispose of the rest of it down the sink.  

I’m sorry, I’m sorry, I’m sorry!

I don’t think I’ll be getting any more beer from Daniel. 😦

Published in: on May 1, 2012 at 4:40 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/05/01/258-st-bernadus-abt-12/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. or that it was to young. Never being a fan of quads (the best being rochefort 10) but having a “fresh” westy 12 in my cellar waiting for the magical 3 years for it to “peak” is just kind of painful.

  2. I don’t get them either Alice… Rochefort 10, yes, but everything else I’ve tried is too sweet (including the exhaulted ones lijke Westy 12 and Struise Pannepot Reserva). Call me a heathen but I’d rather just have a good wine, port or sherry. Or a barleywine!

  3. I love your honesty.

  4. Honesty is the best policy! I’m the same – would much rather have a big barleywine, imperial stout or whisky than a quad.

  5. I’m not a big fan of the beers from that brewery. Rochfort 10 and Westy 12 are both great I reckon, but Im not sure I would really call them quads anyway.


Leave a Reply

