#247 West Coast – International Pale Ale

West Coast International Pale Ale Name: International Pale Ale
Brewery: West Coast Brewing (Westport, NZ)
Style: Pale Ale
ABV: 5%
Source: West Coast Brewery

If I were Goldilocks and I had three beers (and when I’m tired on a Friday afternoon this is actually where my mind goes), I think this would be the baby one. The one that’s just right.

It wasn’t too bitter, it wasn’t too sweet, and unlike some American-style pale ale’s that are loaded with delicious fruity hop goodness, it wasn’t too alcoholic. Yes indeed, Goldilocks could drink it all up and still be sober enough to talk her way out of it when the bears got home. What am I talking about? I don’t know, but I do know I liked this beer.

Nonsense anecdotes aside, it was fruity (citrus, passionfruit), well-balanced with juicy malt, and more than drinkable. You might even say quaffable (particuarly if you’d witnessed me quaffing it). I’m so pleased I still have three bottles left!

In other news, it’s the Auckland Hop tomorrow, which you will all obviously be coming too unless you are a) really far away or b) nuts. See all you sane locals tomorrow!

Published in: on April 20, 2012 at 3:43 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/04/20/247-west-coast-international-pale-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

