#243 Emerson’s – Taieri George

Emerson's Taieri GeorgeName: Taeiri George
Brewery: Emerson’s
Style: Spiced Ale
ABV: 6.2%
Source: Thorndon New World

I almost don’t need to write anything about this beer. The lovely (if I do say so myself) picture on the right says it all – Hot. Cross. Buns. Homemade pagan hot cross buns in this instance.

The Taeiri George is released every year around this time, and is often described as tasting like – if you hadn’t guessed it – a hot cross bun in a bottle. Indeed, it tastes like cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, vanilla, yeast, even raisins and some say, Jesus, if you squeeze your eyes shut and concentrate.

Now I freaking love hot cross buns, and I freaking love this beer. I wish I could have both of them all year round, although it probably adds to the appeal that I can’t. In all honesty I didn’t think they went that well together – the buns rather overwhelmed the beer and seemed to diminish the spice flavours rather than enhance them – but there was something so damn nice about it that I’m going to do it every year.

For the record, I didn’t get given any chocolate this Easter which I’m pretty sure is a first time occurance. Apparently I am officially a grown-up!

Published in: on April 12, 2012 at 4:20 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/04/12/243-taieri-george/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m yet to be convinced on hot cross buns. Taieri George on the other hand… LOVE!

    • WHAT! You’d be convinced if you tried Dad’s…

  2. Not surprised the beer and buns didn’t go as well together… sometimes you need that contrast to make a great pairing. Don’t grow up too quick, milk chocolate might have actually been the best food with that beer! Cheers! -The Beer Less Traveled

  3. I’m convinced on both. Although the match works better with fruit cake, try a simnel cake. Awesome combo.


Leave a Reply

