#238 Mikeller – Mielcke & Hurtigkarl

Mikeller - Mielcke & HurtigkarlName: Mielcke & Hurtikarl
Brewery: Mikkeller
Style: Belgian Strong Ale
ABV: 8.7%
Source:  Shiggy from Hashigo

On Tuesday night I went to Galbraiths to taste some beers with Ian the head brewer, Dave the manager, and Shiggy – who works at Hashigo Zake in Wellington and had bought a few beers up to taste. Ian spent a lot of time trying to convince me to break the rules of my blog so that I could post about all the beers, but I insisted that my weird self-imposed rules were set in stone (I think this exasperated him).

I chose this one to write about because the chance of me having it again before the blog ends are pretty much nil. Also because it’s one of the most goddamn beautiful beers I’ve ever tasted.

This beer was brewed especially for a Mikkeller and Three Floyds dinner at a restaurant named Mielcke & Hurtigkarl (try and pronounce it, I dare you!) in Copenhagen. It was aged in Château d’Yquem barrels,  Château d’Yquem being the world’s most famous (and probably the most expensive, too) dessert wine.

This might sound like being fancy for the sake of it (like edible gold – wtf?), but I can tell you that the resulting beer was out-of-this-world delicious. I’m going to find it hard to decribe because it seemed to be so many contrasting things – full of flavour but subtle, boozy but delicate. It was just so… so damn elegant.

If it were a food, it might be liqueur-soaked peaches with freshly whipped cream. There were definite stone fruit flavours -peaches, apricots, mangoes too, as well as floral notes and a little lemony tartness. The mouthfeel was excellent – creamy yet dry like champagne. I felt instantly pissed after having one sip (granted this was the fourth strong beer we tasted), but the alcohol wasn’t that obvious in the taste. It was – and I don’t say this lightly – my idea of a perfect beer.

Thanks so much to Shiggy, Ian and Dave for sharing with me, and apologies again for spilling that other Mikeller beer all over the table. I’m just bloody glad it wasn’t this one.

Published in: on April 5, 2012 at 1:35 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/04/05/238-mikeller-mielcke-hurtigkarl/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

