#237 Hallertau – Schwarzbier

Hallertau DeceptionName: Schwarzbier
Brewery: Hallertau (Auckland, New Zealand)
Style: Shwarzbier
ABV: 5.1%
Source: New World

I like to think of myself as a dark beer kinda gal (see last post for proof), but I’m thinking that Shwarzbier might not be my jam.

True, I’ve only ever had two – this and Monteith’s Black which might not even count – but I’ve found both to be a little on the watery side.  I like my dark beers to be hearty and fat, and this was just a bit too austere.

This had some nice aromas – chocolate, roasty coffee, nuts, vanilla – but  I didn’t feel like they translated that well on the palate. I wanted full-bodied malt and sweetness to back them up, but instead it was dry and bitter – almost harsh.

I guess this is probably true to style, in which case the style is not for me. And actually it’s probably a good thing if it turns out I don’t like shwarzbeir shwarzbier schwarzbier, seeing as I’m not quite sure how to say it or spell it.

Published in: on April 4, 2012 at 3:04 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/04/04/237-hallertau-schwarzbier/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

