#236 Durham – Temptation

Name: Temptation
Brewery: Durham (Durham, England)
Style: Imperial Stout
ABV: 10%
Source: The Beer Store

I was going to do this really long delayed intro thing about people asking me what my favorite beer style is and me never being able to make up my mind but thinking deep down that it’s probably Imperial Stout, which would lead me to talking arout this beer, but instead I just want to say:

Daaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyymn! This beer is gangsta yo! You gotta go out and get yo’self some!

Of course, unlike this beer I’m extremely white and so will now revert to talking normally. This beer was really that good though. I want to say it was like liquid sex but that would gross my family out, so instead I’ll say it tasted just like Christmas.

It poured black and thick as night, with a head like espresso crema. It smelled of dark and delicious things – roasted coffee, spices, treacle, and bitter chocolate. In the mouth it was syrupy smooth, full-bodied and loaded with lasting flavours. It was dangerously drinkable for its 10% ABV, and while it was sweet, the roasty bitterness kept me coming back for more.

Which brings me back to the original point that I was going to make – I don’t think there’s any beer that gives me more pleasure than Imperial Stout (or porter). And to think I didn’t even know about them before starting this blog… Imagine how much worse my life could have been!

PS – Neat bottle too, huh? Reminds me of a secret society. The secret society of people who know about Imperial Stouts, perhaps.

Published in: on April 4, 2012 at 2:37 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/04/04/236-durham-temptation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Now there’s a secret society I’d join. Although, it properly wouldn’t stay secret for long.

  2. You should try and get your hands on North Coast’s Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout. Definitely my favourite, although I have a potential champion in the fridge waiting for the right day (and another one cellared at my parents house to try in a year’s time).

  3. Good stuff… I have some amazing experiences with these guys beers. And some bloody awful ones. Had both with this… best beer in the world one day to gluepot six months later. I’m glad you got a good one (and hopefully they’re all that way now).


Leave a Reply

