#222 Flying Dog – Raging Bitch

Flying Dog Raging BitchName: Raging Bitch
Brewery: Flying Dog (Maryland, USA)
Style: Belgian-style IPA
ABV: 8.3%
Source: The Beer Store 

Should I be offended/concerned that of the 12 beers my dad recently sent me from The Beer Store, one was called Trashy Blonde, and another Raging Bitch? Was he trying to tell me something?

Actually, names like this are not at all unusual in the beer world. A quick squiz at Ratebeer tells me that there are at least 40 brews that contain the word ‘bitch’, many of which would be quite awkward to order in a bar (“Can I have a Bitch Please, please?”), along with countless references to animal droppings, genitalia, fornication…. there really is no limit.

And apologies for all the swears to my grandparents who, against their better judgement have recently become followers, but this bitch was seriously bitchin’.

This is my ideal IPA. It had loads of American hop sass (both tropical and citrus/piney), squarely matched with sweet, mouth-filling, caramel malt. It had a little spice, some really faint Belgian characteristics from the yeast, a rich full mouthfeel and lingering bitterness at the finish.

Usually with beers this strong I say something like “you’d only want to drink one, with food and friends etc etc”, but not this time.

It’s so delicious that I’d advise buying at least two, and then throwing your friends a “bitch please!” if they ask for even one sip.

Published in: on March 22, 2012 at 4:38 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/03/22/222-flying-dog-raging-bitch/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I vaguely recall drinking one of these at Hashigo Zake just before I left Wellington and been blown away by how good it was. Then shuddering when I realised how expensive it was. That said, it was worth it.

  2. Definitely one of my favorite beers of all time this one.


Leave a Reply

