#220 Buxton Gold

Name: Buxton Gold
Brewery: Buxton (Buxton, England)
Style: Golden Ale
ABV: 5.2%
Source: The Beer Store

Before I get on to talking about this beer, I just want to apologise to all those poor sods who have elected to get this blog via email. I realise that on ‘catch-up’ days like today your inbox gets flooded with posts, and believe me I feel like a real prick for spamming you.

Anyway, the Buxton Gold. I drank it last week while listening to a wonderful This American Life podcast about the original recipe for Coke, and I can tell you the combo was magical.

Because this was described as a “Golden Ale”, I was expecting it to be a bit boring. Style-ist I know. What I mean is, I didn’t expect it to have the delicious big, bold American (and Nelson, it turns out) hop flavour and full, malty body. It thought it was really an APA, shyly disguising itself as a Golden Ale.

Maybe it was the delicious beer, maybe it was my audio-crush on Ira Glass (yes, that is a thing), but for some reason I drank this way too quickly and then wished I had another bottle. I didn’t, and just had to settle for three more podcasts instead.

Published in: on March 19, 2012 at 7:28 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/03/19/220-buxton-gold/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Perhaps its time to get over your Golden Ale loathing. There are many good ones out there.

    Also were you aware that this one is brewed by James Kemp? one of our Brit/Kiwi brewer sort of exports, we imported him first, 🙂


Leave a Reply

