#217 Springhead – Roaring Meg

Name: Roaring Meg
Brewery: Springhead (Retford, England)
Style: Golden Ale
ABV: 5.5%
Source: The Beer Store

I would like to tell you that I’ve been without internet access for the past week – possibly because I’ve been on the moon or in North Korea – and that’s why I am a record seven days behind on posting.

But in fact I just got struck by lightning while abseiling from the Sky Tower and have spent the last week in a deep, unshakeable coma, waking for only 10 minutes each day to drink a beer.

Now that we have that out of the way, on to the Roaring Meg.

TBH, my memory of this is a little hazy, partly (mostly) because I drank it a week ago, but also because it didn’t stand out in any overly memorable way.

I remember honey and citrus, partly (mostly) because I read that on the bottle, but also they did seem to be there after it had been put into my head.

It was drinkable, had a nice sweetness and quite a light mouthfeel. An easy summer quaffer, but nothing to write home about. More of a Whistling Meg if you ask me.

Published in: on March 19, 2012 at 10:25 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/03/19/217-springhead-roaring-meg/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

