#214 Harrington’s – Big John

Name: Big John Special reserve
Brewery: Harrington’s (Chch, NZ)
Style: Scotch Ale
ABV: 6.5%
Source: My flatmate

OK! Today I am vowing to catch up on my blog once and for all, and to stay on top of it until the blog finishes in 150 days time. (While I’m at it I should also vow to start flossing my teeth, keep my room tidy and learn to drive, but hey – I’m only human.)

So, in order to do that I’m going to have to write a few short, crappy posts like this:

On Friday night I drank a Big John. I wanted to try it because it’s in a neat book I have called 1001 Beers You Must Taste Before you Die, and although the New Zealand beers seem kinda outdated (even though it was only published in 2010), it’s interesting to see which ones made it in there.

The Special Reserve is aged in bourbon barrels and it definetely shows. It tasted of whiskey with an ‘e’, chocolate, malt, caramel, vanilla, roasty espresso and a little oak. I thought it tasted really nice, but the found the mouthfeel to be a little on the thin and fizzy side. Good overall though.

Tagging out now, I have four more posts to write!

Published in: on March 13, 2012 at 2:44 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/03/13/214-harringtons-big-john/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I had many nights drinking Big John as a student. It was really strong and cheap. They weren’t very memorable nights, although they could’ve been. I’m sure it used to be stronger than 5.7% though.

  2. Whisky with an ‘E’? So Irish Whiskey? Or whisky as drunk in Manchester in the late 80s/early 90s with a chemical stimulant chaser??

    • American whiskey! But I like the sound of that second one…


Leave a Reply

