#210 Galbraith’s/Hallertau – Beastwars

Name: Beastwars (Brewers Reserve)
Brewery: Galbraith’s & Hallertau (Auckland)
Style: IPA
ABV: 6.7%
Source: Galbraith’s Alehouse

Urrrrrgggghhhhhhhhh….

That strange, guttural noise is by no means a reflection of (or in any way related to) the beer I am about to talk about. It’s just the cry of a writer in distress – specifically one with Blogger’s Block and a stack of overdue posts piling up…

But enough white whining. On I go.

I went to the launch of the latest Cask Ale Series thingee at Galbraith’s on Monday night (you know the drill – Galbraith’s teams up with an NZ brewer to make a cask ale beer), and drank a couple of pints of the new Beastwars.

Side note: On reflection, the fact that I got quite drunk on Monday night probably explains the fact that I’ve been on the back foot all week. Must remember to hold out until Tuesday in future.

As always it was fun/slightly intimidating to have so many beer geeks in one room together – including Joseph Wood of Liberty who was there brewing for the next Cask Ale Series. (In truth I didn’t meet him because he was hiding in the brewery all evening, but I’m sure his presence added something. A hoppy smell and more sideburns, perhaps.)

The beer itself was like a softened, creamier version of the original Beastwars. I really liked the texture and the fruity flavour, but found this, like the original, to be leaning a little too far toward the hopside for me. It gave me that dry, tannin-like feeling in the mouth afterwards and I think I would have enjoyed it more with a little more malt. That’s just a matter of personal preference though, and the general consensus on the night was that it was great.

Blogger’s Block preventing me from coming up with snappy one-liner to close. Insert your own here!

Published in: on March 8, 2012 at 4:22 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/03/08/210-galbraithshallertau-beastwars/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I wasn’t hiding!!! I was cleaning up!!! Because of the amount of hops we put in the hopback (for Yakima Monster) we blocked up the pre filter to the heat exchanger. On top of everything else, we managed to add a further 2 hours to a regular brew. It was a bummer to miss out on meeting everyone…

    At least when I come back up for the release – I’ll have more time to shoot the shit. Or chew the fat. Or Chin wag… whatever is the done thing these days.

  2. Bonus points for getting NZ’s most modest brewer in the background of your photo!


Leave a Reply

