#207 Yeastie Boys – xeRRex

Name: xeRRex
Brewery: Yeastie Boys (Akl/Wgtn)
Style: Imperial Smoked Ale (?)
Source: Yeastie Boys
ABV: 10%

On Friday night I took a bottle of xeRRex around to my brother’s flat for a little tasting. I captured part of a conversation that ran for about 10 minutes. Do I need to say any more?

For the record – I liked it, but prefer the OG Rex Attitude. This one was a little on the sweet side for me and the fact that it coated my mouth more made me feel afterwards like I’d just smoked a packet of cigarettes. At the end of the day though, any beer that can generate as much conversation/argument as this one did is obviously pretty special.

PS – Had a Yeastie Boys Hud-a-Wa that same night – it was sensational! Quite different to the last one that I drank and reviewed on this blog. I’m not sure if the batch I had is the one that’s on the shelves at the moment, but if it is I’ll be stocking up!

Published in: on March 5, 2012 at 3:44 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/03/05/207-yeastie-boys-xerrex/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I had a Hud-a-Wa on Saturday – a-freaking-mazing. So good, I think I’ll need to stock up before you get to the store!

  2. I thought the woman making the particularly elaborate description (about rashuns, first aid kit and a sardine in the blender) was wearing the world’s most outrageous fascinator.

    Evocative either way. Thanks for the insight.

  3. I agree with you, I prefer the orginal Rex but only because xeRRex is way too balanced, and a lot less confronting due (to my palate) to the residual sweetness from the alcohol. The original Rex was great for scaring the absolute crap out of my non-beer geek friends, abd the fact I could get my cigar fix without actually smoking one.

    Keep up the good work on the blog, it always makes for a great read on the way to and from The Wheaty.

  4. …sardines?!?

    • I know. I don’t get that either. I feel like she must have meant smoked fish…

  5. I love them both but I think xeRRex is my favorite and in practise one i reach for more regulary. Its alot more ballanced, drinkable and somehow the weight suits the experiance of drinking all that peat late at night better. However Rex on tap , ice old and fruity is pretty wonderfull.


Leave a Reply

