#201 Dogfish Head – 90 minute Imperial PA

Name: 90 minute IPA
Brewery:  Dogfish Head (Delaware, USA)
Style: Imperial IPA
ABV: 9%
Source: The Beer Store 

Before I get on to the beer, I will just take a moment to address the snazzy BrewDog glass that’s been appearing on the blog of late.

This is my new favourite beer glass (also, ahem, my only beer glass*), and was sent to me along with a bunch of great beers by the kind folks at The Beer Store “as a reward for getting half way”.

Free stuff! Neato!

One of those beers was this 90 minute IPA from Dogfish Head, which Esquire magazine named “probably the best I.P.A in the world”.

I knew it would be excellent, and it was. Hugely hoppy and malty in equal amounts, with flavours of citrus, raisins, pine resin, and caramel. It was rich and sweet upfront with a dry bitter finish, making it moreish and crisp instead of cloying.

And as a testament it’s general deliciousness: a few of my friends describe themselves as ‘non-beer drinkers’, so naturally I have made it a mini-project of mine to convert them. The hardest nut to crack so far has been Chelsea Jade, but she finally actually liked this one. I’ll make a beer-geek of her yet!

*all but one of my large wine glasses have mysteriously disappeared. Flatmates, if you’re reading: this is my passive aggressive way of saying I’m watching you.

Published in: on February 28, 2012 at 3:40 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/02/28/201-dogfish-head-90-minute-imperial-pa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I remember it having a hint of kahlua, when I tried it long long ago.

    An IPA? struggling…
    An awesome beer? Yes!


Leave a Reply

