#200 Mt Froth – AWPA

Mt Froth Wheat Ale Name: American Wheat Pale Ale
Brewery: Mt Froth Brewing Co. (Wanaka, NZ)
Style: Wheat Ale
ABV: 4%
Source: Mt Froth Brewing Co.

Here we go again with the hoppy wheat beer!

I’ve had bit of a wheat revelation in the past couple of weeks, thanks to 8 Wired and Mt Froth introducing me to ‘wheat ales’ which were neither hefeweizen nor witbier, and did not, by definition, taste like dishwater.

This one – a homebrew that Dave sent me months ago – was an easy summer quaffer.

It had some citrus and tropical fruit hops on the nose, a smooth, light mouthfeel and a gently bitter finish. When I was drinking it I wished it had a shade more oomph, but I didn’t realize then that it was only 4%. (There really is only so much oomph you can have with a 4% beer, which makes making really tasty low-alcohol beers tricky.)

This was another solid brew from Dave, and a fine way to mark my reaching the 200 mark. Did I mention I reached the 200 mark? Cause yeah. I did. Only uh… 165 to go.

Published in: on February 27, 2012 at 9:33 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/02/27/200-mt-froth-awpa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

