#194 – Mike’s – Premium Organic Ale

Mike's Organic AleName: Premium Organic Ale
Brewery: Mike’s Organic Brewery (Taranaki, New Zealand)
Style: Dark mild ale
ABV: 4.1%
Source: The Wine Cellar

I’m afraid that this is basically going to be a failure of a post.

I couldn’t get a picture (it was too dark in the Wine Cellar, also I didn’t have a camera) and because I was watching a gig right up the front I couldn’t take any notes because then I would have looked like I was a wanky wannabe music reviewer instead of a wanky wannabe beer reviewer which is way worse.

Anyway, I remember saying “Mmmmm this is really nice!” and then telling a stranger that he had to buy one, so obviously I enjoyed it. I remember it was dark and tasted of roasty malt and chocolate, went down velvety smooth, and had a really nice fullish mouthfeel considering it was only 4.1%.

That’s all I remember though, so now for some filler…

Did you Auckland beer geeks know that there’s pretty much always Mike’s or Croucher beer on tap at the Wine Cellar? They also have Harrington’s and Coopers, as well as some insanely cheap (with good reason) ones like Bushmans and Bear Beer. I go there for the music first and foremost rather than the beer, but the fact that I don’t have to drink Heineken while I watch the bands play is a giant plus.

One more piece of filler – last night I discovered the best Indian restaurant in New Zealand. I can’t tell you where it is because I’ve been sworn to secrecy, but if you buy me a beer I just might. Think about it.

Published in: on February 19, 2012 at 5:14 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/02/19/mikes-premium-organic-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I know that restaurant, it is amazing. Definitely worth buying a beer for

  2. I was once given Beer Bear as a joke gift. I made it through two mouthfuls I think.

  3. I dig the Wine Cellar, esp as they serve Croucher Pale Ale by the pint, and I mean by the PINT, all 568ml of it. The music is great too.


Leave a Reply

