#188 Bootleg Brewery – Raging Bull

Name: Raging Bull
Brewery: Bootleg Brewery (Margaret River, Australia)
Style: Porter
ABV: 7.1%
Source: McCoppins Liquor Store (Melbourne)

Arg, my brain is all sludgy and empty-feeling at the moment (more-so than usual) because I’ve exhausted it with too much Parks and Recreation writing today already. So, I will attempt to be brief…

This was better than I was expecting. In all honesty my experience with Australian beers has thus far been underwhelming, although I’m aware that there are quite a few great once out there that I haven’t yet tried. (Suggestions?)

It was dark and sweet, with flavours of roast malt, licorice, espresso, bitter chocolate and dark fruits. It had a similar mouthfeel to coke – quite bubbly and light, with a little stickyness, and the finish was bitter in a roasty rather than hoppy kinda way.

It was definitely on the sweet side and the alcohol was pretty obvious, but I liked it. If I have it again I’d like to drink it after dinner with some strong blue cheese (instead of in bed at 11:30 at night), but we can’t always get these things right the first time, can we?

Published in: on February 14, 2012 at 10:07 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/02/14/188-bootleg-brewery-raging-bull/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Feral would be my first tip. Hop Hog is a great beer, and if you can get your hands of their Black IPA – Karma Citra you won’t regret it.

    Murrays also know what they are doing – I think Angry Man Brown, or one of the big dark beers, Wild Thing or Heart of Darkness are the best choices there.

    MooBrew’s stuff is always solid, and those awesome bottles, are, well, awesome.

    Bridge Road would be worth considering, particularly if you like farmhouse styles, their bier de garde is great, their black saison, odd but very good. Their single hop range is worth a look as well.

    Having said all that I think I agree that NZ beers are ahead of Aussie brews. The Triumvirate of Epic/Renaissance/8Wired goes a long way to proving that.


Leave a Reply

