#186 8 Wired – HayWired

Name: HayWired
Brewery: 8 Wired (Blenheim, New Zealand)
Style: Wheat Ale
ABV: 4.6%
Source: O’Carrolls Freehouse

Really? This is really a wheat beer?

At the risk of sounding like a complete idiot, I have to admit I’m confused. 

I mean where is the wheat?

I sure as hell can’t see it – the beer is pale gold and not even the tiniest bit cloudy.

I can’t smell it either – it smells fruity and hoppy, like an APA.

And I can’t taste it. There’s none of the usual flavors I usually associate with wheat beer – bubblegum, orange, banana, clove, coriander, dishwater, wallpaper paste… None of that. This is a crisp and clean, with bright citrusy hops – the exact opposite of what I’d had in mind.

On the one hand this is a good thing. The beer tastes nice, and I’ve always said I don’t even like wheat beer anyway. But on the other… I can’t help but feel a little disappointed. I guess I was hoping that Soren was going to change my mind about wheat beer by producing the best one I had ever tasted. And maybe this is the best wheat beer I’ve ever tasted, but it doesn’t seem to count because it breaks all the rules.

But now I’m thinking – do I even know what the rules are? Maybe Witbiers and Hefeweizens have clouded my judgement about what ‘wheat beer’ even means, and perhaps there is a whole world of them out there that taste like this!?!

I don’t know, guys. I’m going to have to drink several more of these and mull it over.

Published in: on February 13, 2012 at 5:59 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/02/13/186-8-wired-haywired/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I was going to give this beer a miss as I’m not a fan of wheat beers (the descriptors you gave descibe wheat beer pretty well – and it’s too fizzy). I’ll have to try this one then.

  2. Clouded your judgement… Hehehe…

    • Ha! I was going to write “‘scuse the pun” but then decided it was too lame, even for me…

  3. There are a whole range of different wheat beers. American style ones usually don’t have any of the yeast derived flavours (ok some smart ass could pipe up that the precursers to those flavours are in the wheat but really its the yeast that does it!) that you get in German and Belgian wheat beers.
    The wheat does give Haywired some tart finish and a lovely vanilla like note and a creamy mouth feel before the tart drying end. Good beer. Try Stone and Wood Pacific Ale, its a wheat beer, but it doesnt call its self one. Its hoppy and quenching and refreshing and not spicy. Im working on a recipe like this at the moment.


Leave a Reply

