#180 Galbraith’s & 8 Wired – The Big Smoke

8 Wired Galbraith's The Big SmokeName: The Big Smoke
Brewery: Galbraith’s & 8 Wired
Style: Porter
ABV: 6.8%
Source: Galbraith Ales

Finally, back at my beloved Galbraith’s after about two months off. It really has been way too long.

I’ve posted a couple of times before about the Galbraith’s Great Brewer Cask series, where every few months Galbraith’s teams up with a New Zealand brewery to make a cask conditioned version of one of their beers. It’s a genius idea, and the results are always delicious.

There was never any question that this one would be great – it’s a collaboration between Galbraith’s and 8 Wired for Christ’s sake – but I still had to get along to the pub to try it. Just to make sure. 

Happily I can report that it is is excellent. I won’t bang on too much because it’s probably all gone now and you’d only get jealous (also I didn’t take any notes), but I will just say that I found it to be a softer, smoother, smokier version of the original, which you can read my thoughts on here.

It’s interesting that Galbraith’s and Soren chose to brew a porter in the middle of summer when usually people want crisper, lighter beers when it’s hot. Actually though, I think it worked perfectly.  The smoky bonfire taste is summery in a way, and the roasty bitterness made it quite refreshing. And the end of the day, I guess there are  no rules about what we should drink and when… We’ve just gotta do what feels right, man.

Published in: on February 6, 2012 at 10:02 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/02/06/180-galbraiths-8-wired-the-big-smoke/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The Bottle Big Smoke was 6.2%, our Cask Ale Big Smoke is 6.8% by volume.

    • Cheers Ian, I thought I had probably got that wrong.

  2. Yeah, I think dark beer in summer works actually, though it’s not something I usually crave… had some stout on a sunny afternoon a couple weeks ago and it was surprisingly refreshing. But then again, I am in Wellington so it was probably closer to the experience of enjoying one on a sunny late-autumn day, which is appropriate I guess.


Leave a Reply

