#178 Brasserie de Rochefort -Trappistes Rochefort 10

Rochefort 10Name: Trappistes Rochefort 10
Brewery: Brasserie de Rochefort
Style: Quad
ABV: 11.3%
Source: Regional Wines (Wellington)

Finally a beer I can sink my teeth into!

Now I know this is going to sound a bit crazy, but Trappist beers are not something I usually go for. I mean, when in Belgium (aka the Belgian Beer Cafe) yes, but usually I prefer something a bit lighter, less sweet, and less likely to put me on my arse if I have more than one.

But every time I do have a Trappist beer it’s delicious. I don’t really get it. Why are those monks so good at making beer?  Sure they’ve been doing it for over a century… But so have Beck’s and they don’t seem to have improved much?

Anyway, there’s probably a good answer to that and a beer blog that contains actual facts could fill you in, but I’ll just tell you that this Rochefort 10, brewed by Trappist monks in the Abbey of Notre-Dame de Saint-Rémy, is freaking delicious.

It poured a deep, dark reddish brown with a sizable tan head, and smelled reeeeally good – loads of malt along with dark fruits- like prunes, figs, and raisins. I also got a little banana, candied sugar, and a whiff of earthy lederhosen.

In the mouth all those complex flavors came together in a syrupy gush of deliciousness. It was sweet yet smooth and utterly drinkable, hiding it’s high ABV dangerously well.

How are the Trappist monks not blind drunk all the time if they have access to this? I mean, never having sex – that’s got to be hard. But standing near a barrel of this beer and refraining from opening up the tap above your open mouth? That shows unbelievable self-restraint.

Published in: on February 4, 2012 at 10:15 am  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/02/04/178-brasserie-de-rochefort-trappistes-rochefort-10/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Earthy Lederhosen? Now there’s a description to conjure with


Leave a Reply

