#169 Twisted Hop – IPA

Name: India Pale Ale
Brewery: Twisted Hop (Christchurch, NZ)
Style: IPA
ABV: 6.4%
Source: Victoria Park New World

It’s happening again. I’m in love with another IPA.

I know I said I was getting over them, but maybe I’m not really. Or maybe I am but this one is just seriously lovely.

It’s actually the malt, more-so than the hops that I really like about this one. There’s something different about it. It’s… I don’t know. Biscuity perhaps? Yes. Yes it’s a bit like an Anzac biscuit, dipped in marmalade and err… eaten with ripe tropical fruit. (And lord knows we’ve all had that combo before.)

At the finish it was dry and resiny like most IPAs, but it was well-balanced and not too bitter for me.

As is usually the case, I’m trying to describe the indescribable and it’s not really working. Perhaps I’ll just call it ‘yum’ and be done with it.

Fin. 

 

Published in: on January 26, 2012 at 11:20 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/01/26/169-twisted-hop-ipa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

