#159 Russian River – Consecration

Name: Consecration
Brewery: Russian River
Style: Sour Ale
ABV: 10%
Source: Blue Palms Brew (Hollywood, LA)

A Sour Ale aged in oak barrels with currents? Cut It Out!

I knew this was going to be one of my favourite beers before I even tried it. I had already purchased it once before – for about $35 from beerstore.co.nz for my Dad’s birthday – but I had only ever tasted it in my dreams.

And what sweet, sweet (and also sour) dreams they were.

I had been expecting a sour bomb, but what I got was more like a sweet, oaky dessert wine with a tangy, sour finish. Flavours were of currants, cherries, oak, vanilla – and something a bit old, leather or books perhaps.  It was beautifully balanced, refreshing, and also f***king strong.

So strong that 5 minutes after I finished it I deteriorated – almost instantly – into a blabbering drunken  mess and had to go home. (I’d also had a tasting paddle and three pints of IPA beforehand, seemingly getting way too excited about being in a craft beer capital and trying to drink all the beer in LA at once. Big mistake.)

Bloody amazing beer though!

Published in: on January 17, 2012 at 4:22 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/01/17/159-russian-river-consecration/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Russian River’s stuff is all good! If you can find it, try their Pliny the Elder Douple IPA. Best I’ve had, and that’s saying something, coming from a guy who loves Epic so much.

  2. Sounds like we just missed each other in LA! The PL and I were in LA 14-15 Jan and just stopped at RR last night on our way back to Washington. In fact, she had a Consecration there as it’s one of her favorite sour ales.
    From what I saw on the taplist last night, RR continue to push the boundaries on all style fronts. It’s very hard to go awry with any of their brews.


Leave a Reply

