#158 Rogue – Dead Guy Ale

Name: Dead Guy Ale
Brewery: Rogue (Newport, Oregon, USA)
Style: Heller Bock
ABV:  6.6%
Source: TART on Beverly Blvd, Hollywood

1) Craft Beer
2) Disneyland

That’s a list of all of the things that I like about Los Angeles. It’s not very long, but both of those things are so great that it’s worth visiting the city and traipsing the bleached white footpaths alone (only the homeless walk in LA) to reach them.

You don’t need to traipse far to find craft beer either. Even the gas stations in LA sell Sierra Nevada Pale Ale (now that’s convenience), and any decent restaurant will probably have a handful of local craft beers on tap too.

I had this Dead Guy Ale at an amazing little restaurant in Hollywood called TART where everything on the menu was $12.99. For that I got a plate heaving with delicious food, and for another 5 bucks or so I got this beer. I wish real life was like that!

It was pretty lively for a dead guy – with nutty caramelly malt balancing bitter citrussy hops.  It was  I had a bit of a ‘Halleluljah!’ moment as soon as I sipped it, which made me realise that while Mexico’s craft beer scene had been much more promising than I’d expected, I hadn’t had a really good beer in quite some time.

PS – As you can tell by the fact it’s in focus, that’s not my picture. I’m still iPhoneless!

Published in: on January 17, 2012 at 2:55 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2012/01/17/158-rogue-dead-guy-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

