#139 Malt Shovel – James Squire The Chancer

20111228-174506.jpg

Name: The Chancer
Brewery: Malt Shovel Brewing (Lion Nathan Co., Sydney)
Style: Golden Ale
ABV: 4.5%
Source: QANTAS Akl > LAX

I’m sitting in a craft beer bar in Puebla, Mexico (yes, they exist! I’ll get to them in a few posts time), which would be quite cool if my ears weren’t being violated with outrageously loud Christian rock and if my laptop wasn’t behaving like it’s 1995.

I had this James Squire beer on the plane. It was probably the best beer I’ve ever had while thousands of feet above the earth, although that in itself isn’t saying a whole lot.

It had some fruity hop flavour and bite, and was pretty crisp and refreshing. Nothing phenomenal – but it went well the shitty chick-flick I was watching (oh, like you don’t when you’re on a plane) and the tin-foil covered cannelloni I drank it with.

That’s all I have to say about that really, because I’m going to kill someone if I have to listen to this music for a minute longer and I don’t think I could continue this blog from jail. 

Mexico’s beer scene is actually awesome though, so stay tuned – Much more exciting things to come!

 

Published in: on December 29, 2011 at 12:57 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/12/29/139-malt-shovel-james-squire-the-chancer/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hola! Be sure to check out Utopia Belgian Beer, Barra Beer, and The Beer Box while you’re in Puebla. 🙂

    • Hola Rebecca! This post was written at Barra Beer, but I will look for the others tomorrow. Beautiful city you have here 🙂


Leave a Reply

