#138 Epic Epicurean – Fig & Coffee Oatmeal Stout

Epic Coffee Fig Stout Name: Fig & Coffee Oatmeal Stout 
Brewery: 
Epic Brewing Co. (Auckland, New Zealand) 
Style: Stout
ABV: 8%
Source: 
Epic  Brewing Co.

Ever since I started this blog I’ve been wondering what beer I might drink on Christmas.

I thought I’d either have something ridiculously lavish and expensive, like Pliny the Elder, or go the other way entirely and just drink a Steinlager (which is red and green, after all).

And then a couple of weeks before Christmas, just as I realised I was broke and heading begrudgingly toward Steinlager, this beautifully bottle of Fig and Coffee Stout arrived in the mail.

We had it for breakfast with glazed ham and freshly baked bread rolls. (And, admittedly – Heinz tomato ketchup. It’s a tradition.)

This is the first time in about 15 odd years that I haven’t had bubbly with breakfast, and the first time I’d ever had a stout in the AM, but dammit, if it didn’t just work. 

It worked wonderfully well as a breakfast beer (better than any official ‘breakfast beer’ that I’ve tried), because it tastes predominantly like fresh espresso. I guess it’s probably caffeinated too, which might me why I felt surprisingly perky after drinking it. Then again that might have been the 8% ABV.

It worked as a Christmas beer because it was special – intensely aromatic (espresso and chocolate-covered hard caramel), with a smooth, full mouthfeel and satisfying bitter finish. I can’t say I could properly distinguish the fig and coconut flavours, but I’m sure they added something.

Oh! I just remembered. Someone else has already done a way, way better job than I ever could of writing about this beer. If you want to know the ins and outs of this brew (literally, there is a strangely satisfying video of the figs being pulled out of the brew kettle), then read Epic co-brewer Kelly Ryan’s post on his blog beeRevolution.

And then come back to my blog! Because I’m heading to Mexico in three hours and shit’s about to get LOCO up in hurr!*

*note that by loco I mean posts will generally be shorter, more intermittent, and badly written due to tequila and chilli intake. Not more fun. (But then again they might be.)

 

Published in: on December 26, 2011 at 10:28 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/12/26/138-epic-epicurean-fig-coffee-oatmeal-stout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

