#137 Yeastie Boys – Red Rackham

Yeastie Boys Red RackhamName: Red Rackham
Brewery: Yeastie Boys
Style: Belgian Ale
ABV: 6.8%
Source: Waiheke Wines

It’s Christmas! Woooooooo! Yeah! Alright!

But before I get on to that (next post), a few words about my Christmas Eve beer – Red Rackham. (And I’ll just be very quick because I’m going to Mexico tomorrow and I still need to learn Spanish before I go to bed.)

This was a great little Belgian Ale, though I’d struggle to properly describe it. On one level I thought it had a typically Belgian nose – candy, bubblegum, yeasty bread and banana and LOADS of caramel… but there was something else. Something quite definitely pink. 

It’s possible it was just the label (which Stu will tell me is Magenta), but all these pink things came to mind when I sniffed it – pinky bars, turkish delight, and marshmallows. It didn’t taste like any of these things exactly, it was more of a vibe, you know?

There were hops too, or at least something sharp at the finish – a little bitter, slightly tart, balancing the sweet Belgian flavours and keeping things fresh.

I drank it with some extra special cheese – Kapiti Ramara (my fave) that had been washed in Epic Hop Zombie. It seemed almost criminal given how rare that stuff is these days – but I decided it was a worthy sacrifice once I tasted it.

Kapiti Ramara Hop Zombie

To be honest I couldn’t detect a definite Hop Zombie taste (others with more astute palates say they can), but it was excellent nonetheless – with a sharp and stinky rind and creamy gooey deliciousness inside. An excellent way to kick off Feastmas!

Published in: on December 25, 2011 at 10:48 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/12/25/137-yeastie-boys-red-rackham/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

