#137 Brewery Britomart – Element 5

Name: Element 5
Brewery: Brewery Britomart (Auckland, New Zealand)
Style: NZ Pale Ale
ABV: ?
Source: Brewery Britomart

Yesterday afternoon, after setting my out-of-office reply for three weeks and walking out into the sunshine a free woman, I decided the best place to spend the first few hours of the holidays was the pub.

I wandered down Queen Street to the newly-opened and rather chic brewpub, Brewery Britomart, where I had this tasting paddle:

That’s a Golden Ale, a Brown Ale, a Pale Ale and an IPA.  All were tasting pretty good (although I feel ambivalent about every golden ale I’ve ever had, this one included), but my favourite was probably the Pale Ale.

I feel like I’m repeating my Beastwars post – but I think it had a really American vibe to it despite being made with New Zealand hops. Part of that might be the hazy amber colour, but it’s also the citrus that came through on the nose and the pine bitterness in the finish. Our NZ hops are more fun though I reckon, and they give this beer a happy, juicyfruit dimension that American Pale Ale’s don’t have.

OK! I’m up to date with my posts now, which means I can go and start the rolling feast/beerfest I like to call Christmas.

Beer beer beer beer ham ham ham ham beer beer beer beer beer!

Published in: on December 24, 2011 at 3:55 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/12/24/137-brewery-britomart-element-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

