#134 Brasserie d’Orval – Orval

Name: Orval
Brewery: Brasserie d’Orval
Style: Belgian Ale
ABV: 6.3%
Source: Belgian Beer Cafe (Ponsonby)

Dear Orval,

I’m just going to come right out and say this: I think I love you.

I don’t know why it took me so long to find you (or why I wasted so much time with Leffe Brune at the Belgian Beer Cafe) but now that I have I’m not going to let you go ever.

I know people love the bigger, stronger Trappist beers – but I like it that you’re a little smaller. Not too small of course, but small enough that I can comfortably have you a few times in one night.

It’s not like you’re not manly, either. In fact you’ve got that leathery, earthy smell – like a well-worn pair of Lederhosen.

Mmmm…. Lederhosen…. 

I don’t like my beers too macho, which is why I really appreciate your fruity side. And your gentle sweetness, which doesn’t ever get too icky.  You’re not like any other Trappists I’ve tried Orval – you’re refreshing. 

I know all my friends would love you. Everyone would –  even my Dad who is quite picky about what I should and shouldn’t drink. Would you like to meet them? No probably not yet, I’m rushing things…

The truth is that the next 8 months are a bit complicated for me anyway. I have a lot of other beers to try, and I can’t guarantee I won’t fall for any of them (I’m only being honest because I like you so much).

But I have a plan. Meet me on August 10th (the day after I finish the blog) at the Belgian Beer Cafe. If you’re as good as you were last night, then it’s on.

A x

PS – Just remembered you’re a monk! Doh. Disregard all of the above.

Published in: on December 21, 2011 at 4:09 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/12/21/133-brasserie-dorval-orval/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I was lucky enough to visit the Orval brewery open day in September. I tell you what, if you think it tastes great at the Belgian Beer Cafe, it tastes absolutely freaken fantastic at the brewery. And the cheese is damn good too! So if you get the chance, you should definitely visit 🙂

  2. Bravo Alice! I was wondering when you’d come to Orval. It’s the beer that makes you question your preference for hop monsters. I always used to poke fun at people who said things tasted like horse blanket until I tried it.

  3. We may have to duel at dawn.

  4. One of the better written beer reviews I’ve read in quite some time.

  5. Had the same beer at the same time but in their pub across the bridge !! Loved it also. Enjoying the variety there is out there to taste. I love hoppy and also appreciate malt, its all good. Tasting 13 beers tomorrow, cant wait, Mmmmmm

  6. Ah, Orval, you’ve turned another to your complex charms.

    Have you yet tried Duchesse De Bourgogne?

    I think you’ll love it; another Belgian masterpiece; a Burgandy of beer, rich and red, sweetly sour cherry flavours and bittersweet dessert notes. Mmmmm.

  7. The Duchesse , now your talking! Much better than that anaemic Monk.


Leave a Reply

