#125 Wanaka Beerworks – Kauri

Wanaka Beerworks KauriName: Kauri
Brewery: Wanaka Beerworks
Style: Dark Ale
ABV:  5%
Source: Regional Wines (Wellington)

You may have seen in the last post that I drank Saturday’s beer after 10 or so glasses of wine, and before several more (I ended up in the pool fully clothed, so that gives you some idea) so it should come as no surprise that I was in the throws of another horrific hangover when I drank this one. (I swear I’m not an alcoholic – it’s just the season and all that.)

So once again my tasting notes are a bit err… thin, but I’ll do my best.

This was my second beer from this Wanaka Beerworks series (the first being the Miners Galore), and I must say I felt pretty much the same about this as I did the last one.

It poured a very dark cola-colour with almost no head – although perhaps that had something to do with the highly inappropriate (or was it?) champagne flute I used.

It smelled of bitter dark chocolate and roasty malt, and on the palate it was the same, with bitterness all the way through it and no real sign of sweetness – not even at the tip of the tongue. The label said it was slighlty sour – but I didn’t really get that, just a slight acidity to the bitterness at the finish. I also didn’t really get the infused flavour of Kauri, but then it’s been a while since I ate any Kauri trees so I’m not sure I’d recognise it if I did.

I wanted more body and sweetness, but maybe it’s just a slightly odd style that I’m not used to. I’d love to know what anyone else thought but no one seems to have written anything about these beers before. I hope I don’t put anyone off by posting the only review and being a bit unfavourable – but you all know you shouldn’t listen to me. I’m just a crazy alcoholic!

Just kidding. It’s the season people. THE SEASON.

Published in: on December 13, 2011 at 6:35 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerforayear.wordpress.com/2011/12/13/125-wanaka-beerworks-kauri/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I tried a bottle recently and must agree. Pre-tasting, my enthusiasm was high. I don’t know exactly what I was expecting – maybe something with shades of the Wigram Brewing Spruce Beer, but less piney intensity. Not the case. There was no upfront kauri aroma or taste I could detect.

    There was a little sourness in the beer, but it was fleeting. The beer was thin of malt, with large gaps in the palate. A flavour wheel that wouldn’t roll down a hill. Certainly not unpleasant, but almost a non-event.

    Ageing the beer for a year (if I remember that right) might not be such a great move if it’s flavour you value.

    Now, if Epic were to brew a kauri beer…


Leave a Reply

